Super Star Rajesh Khanna

Super Star Rajesh Khanna

Friday, March 21, 2008

Prem Bandhan - 1979


Introduction :

Prem Bandhan (Hindi: प्रेम बंधन; translation: bond of love) is a 1979 is an Indian Hindi film directed by Ramanand Sagar. The film stars Rajesh Khanna, Rekha, Moushumi Chatterjee as the lead actors and is supported by A. K. Hangal, Prema Narayan, Bhagwan, Keshto Mukherjee and Lalita Pawar. The films music is by Laxmikant Pyarelal. This film, along with Amar Deep, marked the comeback of Rajesh Khanna, as these were his commercially successful films after period of two years.The "Indian" news magazine noted that "Rajesh Khanna makes a sincere attempt to recover his popularity as "superstar" and succeeds.He gives natural touching performance ".

The story revolves around adventures of Rajesh Khanna when he loses his memory by meeting in an accident and falls prey to Amnesia and falls in love with a fisher woman and gets married whereas his sophisticated city bred girlfriend keeps waiting for him in city.

Star Cast :
  •     Super Star Rajesh Khanna as Kishan/Mohan Khanna
  •     Rekha as Mahua
  •     Moushami Chatterji as Meena Mehra
  •     Vikram as Dr. Vinod, Chanda's fiance
  •     Braham Bhardawaj as Senior doctor
  •     Janki Dass as Rodrigues,     Khanna Enterprises' Accountant
  •     Javed Khan as Eve teaser
  •     Birbal as Bhelpuri vendor
  •     Helen
  •     Master Bhagwan
  •     Keshto Mukherjee
  •     Prema Narayan
  •     A. K. Hangal
  •     Lalita Pawar
  •     Om Shivpuri
  •     Chandru Atma
Other Film Crew's :
  • Director – Ramanand Sagar
  • Producer – R. R. Nanda
  • Production Company – Gauri Films
  • Editor – Lachhmandass
  • Directed by     Ramanand Sagar
  • Produced by     Revati Raman Nanda
  • Gauri Films
  • Music by     Laxmikant Pyarelal
  • Lyrics by Anand Bakshi
  • Edited by     Lachhmandass
  • Release date :    19 January 1979
  • Country     : India
  • Language    : Hindi
Summary :

Adivasi Mahua lives a poor lifestyle in a fishing village along with her widowed dad. One day the local Poojary comes across a seemingly menacing looking male, feeds him, and asks Mahua's dad to look after him. This male has no memory and they name him Kishan. Shortly thereafter Mahua and Kishan fall in love and get married. After about 2 months Kishan goes to the city and does not return home. A frantic Mahua and her dad go to the Police as well as to the city to search for him albeit in vain and return home. Mahua continues to worry about Kishan and sets out on her own to try to locate him. She meets with a doctor who informs her that he recalls treating a male fitting Kishan's description and gives her his Bombay address. Mahua travels to Bombay and locates Kishan's house. This is where she will find out that Kishan now calls himself Mohan Khanna, who is very wealthy, lives in a mansion but who now refuses to recognize her, and is about to get formally engaged to equally wealthy Meena Mehra.

 Music Sound Track :
  •     Music Director – Laxmikant Pyarelal
  •     Lyricist – Anand Bakshi
  •     Playback Singer's – Asha Bhosle, Manna Dey, Mahendra     Kapoor,    Kishore Kumar and Lata Mangeshkar

S.No.     Song Title     Singer (s)    

1.    "Hoti Hai Kisise Jab Preet" - By   Kishore Kumar and Asha Bhosle    
2.    "Main Tere Pyar Mein Pagal"  - By Kishore Kumar and Lata 
3.     "Meri Payal Mein Yeh"  - By      Asha Bhosle   
4.    "Wada Nahin Karte Kisi Se" - By Lata Mangeshkar, Mahendra Kapoor 
         and Chorus   

Reception :

It received three and a half stars in the Bollywood guide Collections.The film grossed 3,50,00,000 at the box office in 1979.

No comments: